Sunday Cooking

Argh…I know I haven’t posted in a while; my new years resolution is to be more consistent, but my plate overfloweth with being a wife, mom, and therapist. One thing I’ve adopted to make my life easier is Sunday Cooking. I cook a few big meals on Sunday that my hubby and I can pull from throughout the week for lunches and dinners. If I didn’t do this, it would be way to easy to fall off the healthy eating wagon and try to make “healthy” choices from local restaurants. I spend a good amount of time researching new recipes to keep our food choices fresh and exciting. This week I tried a couple new ones that I thought I’d share.

Breakfast:

I typically eat the same breakfast everyday. I don’t know what it is about me and breakfast and not getting tired of the same meal everyday (2 eggs and gluten-free oatmeal with raisins and cinnamon), but my husband makes little remarks once in a while that tells me I need to mix it up. I found and this little gem from a blog called Urban Nester. I made adaptions based on what I had on hand and food preferences.

Gluten-Free Bake Oatmeal Casserole
Total Time: 50 minutes
Serves:
6

Ingredients
2 cups gluten-free rolled oats
6 Truvia packets
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 Cup sliced almonds
1 cup berries (I used frozen)
1/2 cup Enjoy Life brand Chocolate Chunks (gluten, soy, and dairy free)
2 cups coconut milk
1 large egg
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 ripe banana diced

Instructions

Preheat oven to 375°F and generously spray the inside of a 10-1/2 by 7 inch baking dish with cooking spray and place on a baking sheet.

In a large bowl, mix together the oats, Truvia, baking powder, cinnamon, salt, half the almonds, half the berries and half the chocolate. (Save the other half of berries, almonds and chocolate for the top of the oatmeal). In another large bowl, whisk together the coconut milk, egg, butter and vanilla extract.
Add the oat mixture to prepared baking dish. Arrange the remaining berries, almonds and chocolate on top. Add the banana slices to the top then pour the milk mixture over everything. Gently shake the baking dish to help the milk mixture go throughout the oats. I made this the night before, and baked in the morning. Either way will do.
Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until the top is nicely golden brown and the milk mixture has set.
IMG_7243
 Image taken from Urban Nest…I should have taken a pic of mine before we dug in for breakfast this morning…
This was seriously like eating dessert for breakfast, but without all the guilt.
Calories: 287 per serving
38 grams of carbs
6 grams of fiber
14 grams of fat
8 grams of protein
*******************************************************************
The following recipes will provide my husband and I with 18 servings of food! This covers most of our lunches and dinners until the weekend. I always have on hand salad supplies, and in addition to these recipes, will bake some chicken to add to salads to mix it up.
*******************************************************************
Organic Southwestern Stuffed Peppers and Meat for Taco Salads; a 2 for one recipe
Blog Photos 004
I have searched high and low for a GOOD pepper recipe, and i found it on the blog Simply Love Food. I made some minor adaptions again based on preferences and available ingredients.
 The unexpected result was double the amount of filling that could even fit into the peppers, so I halved the finished mixture (via a food scale) and saved the other half to make taco salads. Bonus!
Ingredients:
  • Olive Oil cooking spray
  • 1 tbls Olive Oil (EVOO)
  • 1 package ground turkey breast (I bought this from Costco, and it weighed in at 27 ounces of meat)
  • 1 medium onion
  • Homemade taco seasoning. See recipe below. 
  • 2 cups of cooked brown rice
  • 3 organic bell peppers, halved and seeds removed
  • 1 can of black beans, I use Eden Organic drained & rinsed
  • ½ cup of organic frozen corn
  • 1 (15 -16 ounce) jar of salsa
  • Applegate Cheddar Cheese (I used one slice on top of each pepper)

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix (taken from allrecipes.com)

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

Blog Photos 009

Pre heat the oven to 400 degrees. Lightly coat the peppers with olive oil cooking spray and roast in a baking dish about 20-25 minutes just until cooked thru. Remove the peppers from the oven and allow to cool until you can handle them.

Saute the onions in tablespoon of EVOO and add turkey and brown til cooked thoroughly. Add the taco seasoning, black beans, corn and rice. Add in the jar of salsa and mix well.

This was a where I discovered the sheer amount of mixture, weighed it, halved it, and set aside half the filling for taco salads.

Blog Photos 013

Carefully spoon the turkey mixture into each half of the bell peppers and place back into the baking dish. Cook the peppers for another 15-20 minutes or until the peppers are cooked all the way thru. Before removing from the oven sprinkle the tops of each pepper with shredded cheddar cheese. Place back into the oven just until the cheese has melted.

Remove from the oven and top with fresh cilantro, avocado slices and/or sour cream just before serving if desired.

Calories: 246 per serving
20 grams of carbs
4.3 grams of fiber
11 grams of fat
19 grams of protein
**********************************************************************
Turkey Taco Mixture Nutrition Info (minus lettuce)
Serves 6
Calories: 161 per serving
16 grams of carbs
3 grams of fiber
4.6 grams of fat
13.4 grams of protein
************************************************************************
And finally, a tried and true favorite around here, and it’s MY recipe.
Rachel’s Gluten-Free Turkey Spaghetti
Serves 6
Ingredients:
  • One package of gluten free spaghetti noodles; I LOVE the ancient harvest quinoa brand
  • 2 organic zucchini squash
  • 1 package of ground turkey
  • 1 package of baby bella crimini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 organic yellow onion
  • 1 tbls EVOO
  • Your favorite jar of ORGANIC spaghetti sauce. Make sure SUGAR is not listed in the ingredients, and that you can pronounce all ingredients.
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced

I love using what I call “vegetable fillers” in my recipes when I can. This is one of those recipes that you can “bulk up” the volume of the dish by adding vegetables, with very few added calories. Plus, with hashimoto’s, getting extra Selenium is a must, and mushrooms are a great food source.

Directions:
Cook noodles according to package instructions. Gluten free noodles are different from the other kind, so make sure not to add any salt or olive oil to water. Also, rinse after draining. You may have to pull apart, or separate some of the noodles, because sometimes they can stick together.
Blog Photos 006
Rinse the mushrooms, dice onion and slice zucchini.
Blog Photos 002Blog Photos 005
Heat up 1 tbls EVOO in pot and add mushrooms zucchini and garlic. Saute until zucchini becomes soft.
Meanwhile in a skillet, brown garlic and onions until turkey is cooked thoroughly.
Blog Photos 003
Add the turkey and onion mixture to zucchini, mushroom, and garlic. Stir in spaghetti sauce. I like to add a few shakes of red pepper flakes to give it a little zing.
Simmer on low about 15-20 minutes. Add noodles and mix together.
Blog Photos 015
Okay, not the prettiest picture, but look how much food you get out of this batch!
Calories: 430 per serving
44 grams of carbs
7 grams of fiber
14 grams of fat
31.5 grams of protein
Leave a Reply

