Faux Cream

When you give up gluten, one of the most frequent questions people ask is “What about treats”? Well, lucky for me, I’m an ice cream girl. I didn’t even have a wedding cake at my wedding, instead we had an ice cream bar from our favorite local ice cream shop. I will have the real thing from time to time; however, I usually regret it, and not for the reasons you may think. Since I’ve “reset” my taste buds by giving up sugar, when I do have it, I feel sick from the sugar rush. So I’ve found a great healthy substitute I like to call “Faux Cream”. I certainly didn’t invent this recipe, but I’ve used the base to create several flavor variations.

The ultimate test a recipe has to pass around here is the husband test. He gets extremely skeptical when I make a “healthy” dessert. He still hasn’t forgiven me for my black bean brownie fail. Epic Fail. However, he says the “Faux Cream” passes the test.

Faux Cream; Serves 1

Ingredients:

One frozen banana (I cut mine into chunks and put into freezer bag for ease of blending)

1/2 Cup Frozen fruit of choice (Mixed berries, Strawberry (hubby’s fave), etc..)

1/2-3/4 cup of unsweetened almond or coconut milk

Another great add- in is pure pumpkin and a dash of cinnamon; this is my favorite, but it didn’t photograph well.

Put all ingredients in a food processor or blender.

Blog photos 002

Blog photos 001

Blend, adding almond milk or coconut milk 1/4 cup at a time until desired consistency.

And, voila!

Strawberry Faux Cream…

Blog photos 005

Berry Faux Cream

Blog photos 003

Leave a Reply

