Toddler Muffins

Not only do my husband and I eat “clean”, but so does our 10 month old. I’m well aware that I only have control over what my child eats for a certain amount of time, so my goal is to start good eating habits now. I’ve noticed that other parents in our lives can get pretty defensive on the food they feed their children, like I’m somehow judging them or thinking they are making poor choices. Well if you’re feeding your child Skittles for breakfast, I guess I’d judge that, but in our circle that is not the case. The truth is that I ate a horrible diet growing up. Mostly processed food and garbage, not because my mom was a bad parent, but because I liked it and it was easy. Busy parents love easy…they need easy. What most people don’t consciously know, is that these companies know that too, and profit A LOT off of it. Food companies are not in the business of making healthy choices for you; they are in the business of making money. They hire scientists to come up with chemically engineered flavors with the perfect combination of sugar, salt, and fat to hook you and your children and keep you buying more. Dr. Oz just aired a program showing that these foods are as addicting as cocaine. These are not real foods, but they taste better because that is what they are engineered to do. I think it is our responsibility as parents and consumers to know what we are putting in our mouths and the mouths of our children. I like sharing knowledge, not passing judgment.

I’m also aware that old habits die hard. People, by nature, resist change. I recall my husband having a full-blown adult temper tantrum because our cupboards didn’t have the familiar brands of junk he had bought his entire life. How’s that for brand loyalty! I was somewhat forced into this lifestyle, and the more I read, the more I learned. And frankly, the more I wanted to keep learning.

My most favorite criticisms I get are some flavor of the “well it’s not going to kill you” argument or the “eating healthy costs more money”. I’ll address these one at a time.

* It’s Not Going to Kill You *

Well, that’s debatable. Eating a diet high in processed foods is killing people. Look at our heart disease, obesity, and diabetes numbers in this country. Are you going to drink a soda and drop dead. Probably not. People don’t develop lung cancer after one cigarette either. A friend of mine recently posted something on facebook about her grandma living til 90 eating velveeta cheese and creamed soups. George Burns also lived to the ripe old age of 100 smoking 10-15 cigars a day. You can’t take the exceptions to the rule to make an argument that these are healthy behaviors. Besides, my goal isn’t to live to 100. My goal is to feel good by feeding my body food the way God made it, in as natural a form possible.

* Eating Healthy Costs More Money *

Have you priced out cancer? How about doctor’s visits, medications, and time off work? If I offered you a snack of petroleum or a sip of flame retardant would you accept it and even give some to your kids? Of course not, but people unknowingly do it everyday. 90% of food dyes in nearly every children’s snack including “fruit” snacks and cereals are made of petroleum. Some of these food dyes have been linked to behavioral disorders like ADHD and Autism. BVO or Brominated Vegetable Oil can be found in a popular sports drink and sodas and is a chemical flame retardant not meant for human consumption.

I’ll take my money and invest in the health of me and my family. Do I “stress” about it. No. There is nothing to stress about when you eat whole, non GMO foods. We don’t eat “perfect” either, we’re just doing the best we can!

So there it is. My rant. My new passion. Take it or leave it, it’s up to you.

Now on to a recipe. My family is taking a vacation to Arizona, and I was looking for a recipe that could incorporate some fruit, vegetables, and protein; a muffin of some sort. I wanted to be able to freeze said muffin and pack it to avoid having to cook a lot on vacation and to have something nutritious on hand for the little guy. I came across a lot of recipes with the usual copious amounts of sugar, butter, “vegetable” oil, and white flour. So I took a recipe as a base, removed all the junk, and came up with a delicious little recipe that my little one loves. Heck, they taste delicious to my husband and I too.

Toddler Muffins

2 large peeled organic carrots

2 large bananas

1-2 apples, cored

1 Cup of cooked sweet potato or squash

2 eggs

1 1/2 Cups Gluten free oats

1/2 Cup Water

Dash of cinnamon

1 teaspoon of baking soda

1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Using a food processor, place carrot in first and grind. Next, place the rest of the ingredients and blend til smooth.

Toddler muffins 002

Place in greased muffin tin (I used olive oil), and bake for 45 minutes.

Toddler muffins 003Toddler muffins 004

Makes 12 muffins.

Leave a Reply

