Pregnant with Hashimoto’s

I’m back after a long break from blogging! I had to step away from the thyroid world for a bit to preserve my own sanity. I started to feel like I knew too much; you know, the more you know the more you suffer. Before I go on, let me just preface this by saying that I LOVE all the advocacy sites out there to help people like us. I am so glad I had a place to connect with others and get direction and ideas as to how to advocate for myself and optimize my treatment. This information was invaluable. The problem was that I became stable and healthy and continuous reading of other people’s symptoms, symptoms I hadn’t experienced, links to other diseases, etc… was starting to take me away from the present moment and fueled my fear and anxiety that bad things were awaiting me. I recall someone asking on a popular thyroid site, “Where are all the people that are doing well?” I can tell you where they are; out living their lives and free from fear of the next bad thing.

So that’s what I did; I unplugged and started living my life. I still answered people’s personal emails and use my knowledge in my therapy practice to encourage client’s presenting with depression and anxious symptoms to go back to their physician’s and ask to have a complete thyroid panel. I educate my colleagues on how thyroid dysfunction can mimic mental illness. I encourage all of my friends of childbearing age to have their thyroid’s checked prior to becoming pregnant. When I was experiencing the hyperthyroid symptoms of postpartum thyroiditis 2 years ago, and had just received my diagnosis of Hashimoto’s, I searched for a way that something good could come out of it. I’ve found the good; I feel so blessed that I have been able to help others and that I can continue to do so.

This is what brings me back to blogging; I’m 8 months pregnant with baby number 2 right now. My first endocrinologist, the one that told me I would likely never lose the tremendous amount of weight I gained from the pregnancy with my son, also mentioned that I may have a hard time becoming pregnant again. Like many things she told me, this too turned out to be not true. Of course, I was terrified about how hashi’s would affect by unborn baby. I didn’t have to go back to the internet to scour the information; I already had read it.

I can’t control a lot with this disease; I can just take care of myself to the best that I know how and leave the rest up to God. So far things are going so well! With the collaboration of my OB and Endocrinologist, I’ve been able to keep m y thyroid levels optimal. I have also been able to continue working out (far less and more modified at this point in pregnancy, but still able)! I’ve had no complications, baby is healthy, and I’m on track for a healthy weight gain (23 pounds at 32 weeks). So I’ve been thinking about the direction I want to take with my blogging…maybe It’ll be about ME. All of me: A mother, a lover of cooking healthy foods, and fitness addict. Oh yeah, and I just also happen to have hashimoto’s as well. You see, I am (and so are you!) so much more than a medical condition.

32 weeksbow

2 thoughts on “Pregnant with Hashimoto’s

  1. I just found your blog today! I had my third baby 5 months ago. I was on track with my thyroid levels throughout my pregnancy and I only gained about 15 lbs. I started working out and trying to lose the 15 plus the 40 I had before I was pregnant. I’ve been eating clean and working out for two months and I’ve gained three pounds! Add that to total exhaustion and I had no clue what was going on. I had my panel done last week and it appears my Hashimoto’s has flared up out of control. I was starting to think that my fitness goals were probably just not possible for me. I needed to find someone that was able to do it. I came across your blog and I now have new hope. Thanks for putting your story out there for people like me. I’m excited to see how things go for you after your little one comes.

    • Hang in there! I had a span of a couple months after my first baby where it seemed like all my efforts were for nothing! Getting your levels stable is frustrating and time consuming at times. I hope you are working with a good endocrinologist! Good luck and thanks for reaching out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

